Allegheny Health Network
Find a
Request An Appointment Login to
News Classes &
Call 412.Doctors


Current Residents

Class of 2018
Ravi Ambani, MD - Drexel University College of Medicine
Robert Brookover, MD - West Virginia University School of Medicine
David Aaron Guel, MD - University of Texas Southwestern Medical School
Johnathan Levy, MD - Albany Medical College
Joseph Sorg, MD - Drexel University College of Medicine

Class of 2019
Benjamin Cragun, MD - Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine
Stephanie Cerrone, DO -  Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine
Alexandra Falvo, MD – Penn State College of Medicine
Tamara Floyd – Rush University College of Medicine, Chicago, IL
Omar Hashmi, MD – Temple University School of Medicine
Isaac Kriley – University of Toledo College of Medicine, Toledo, OH 
Laura Marie Chanlatte de los Santos, MD - Universidad Iberoamericanana (UNIBE) School of Medicine
Anne Meslang, MD - Eastern Virginia Medical School of the Medical College of Hampton Roads

Class of 2020
Nicholas Bailey, MD - Marshall University - Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine
Philip Bauer, MD – University of Wisconsin-Madison – School of Medicine & Public Health
Brendan Hagerty, MD – Temple University School of Medicine
Ashley Hill, MD - Penn State College of Medicine
Patrick Regan, DO – Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine
Matthew Shaheen, MD - Wayne State University School of Medicine

Class of 2021
Steven Ballesteros, MD - Medical College of Georgia
Melissa Hetrick, DO - Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine, Erie
Kelly Krupa, MD - Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University
Kristin Krupa, MD - Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University
Hillary Simon, DO - Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine, Virginia Campus
Zachary Spigel, MD - University of Texas Medical School at San Antonio

Class of 2022
Jose Alonso Escalante, MD – University of Costa Rica
James Babowice, DO – Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine
Elizabeth Dahlborg, MD – Boston University
Julia Solomina, MD – First Moscow State Medical University
Stanley Wolfe, MD – West Virginia University of Medicine
Shinichiro Yokota – Hirosaki University School of Medicine


An important consideration for many applying to a general surgery residency is the opportunities available upon completion. In fact, one the best markers of a residency program is the success of its graduates.

In addition to training skilled general surgeons, our program is proud that more than 50% of our graduates continue their training in a specialized area of surgery. Our chief residents routinely secure diverse fellowship positions, as demonstrated by the following list of recent graduates' initial positions after their chief residency:

Class of 2017
Wade Berger, DO – Faculty staff at Heritage Valley Medical Center
Louis Capecci, MD – Cardiothoracic Fellowship at Penn State Hershey, Hershey PA
Kellen Hayes, MD – Minimally Invasive/Bariatric Fellowship at Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, OH
Derek Ornelas, MD – Faculty Staff at Mercy Health in Boardman, OH
Meredith Witten, MD – Breast Surgery Fellowship at the University of Alabama in Birmingham, AL

Michael Archer, DO - fellowship in Thoracic Surgery at Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville, TN
Yohey Hashimoto, MD - fellowship in Surgical Critical Care at New York-Presbyterian Weill Cornell Medical Center
Rick Mai, MD – Attending Staff in Las Vegas, NV
Zachary Peckler, MD - Attending Staff at Riddle Hospital in Media, PA
Jennifer Rittenhouse-Puhak, MD - Attending Staff at Laurel Ridge Surgical Associates at Uniontown Hospital
Rachel Tindall, MD - fellowship in Transplant and Hepatobiliary Surgery at Cedars Sinai Hospital

Linda Bergal, Attending staff, Houston
Amanda Celii, Trauma/Critical Care/ ACS Fellowship, Emory University, Atlanta
Mark Crye, Cardiothoracic Fellowship, Allegheny General Hospital, Pittsburgh
Benedict Leung, Attending staff, Heritage Valley Hospital, Beaver, Pa.
Michael Stellmaker, Attending staff, Saint Luke's Hospital, Duluth, Minn.
Wesley Vosburg, MIS Fellowship, Tufts, Medical Center, Boston

Tara Grahovac, Breast Fellowship, UPMC, Pittsburgh
Kelly Wanamaker, Cardiothoracic Fellowship, Brigham Woman's Hospital, Boston
Jennifer Chen, Trauma/Critical Care Fellowship, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, N.C.
Edward Vilella, Vascular Fellowship, Loyola Medical Center, Chicago
Jacquelyn Palmer, Breast Fellowship, Carolina Medical Center, Charlotte, N.C.
Vanessa Papalazaros, Attending staff, Samaritan Lebanon Community Hospital, Albany, Ore.

Shahab Akvan - Cardiothoracic Fellowship, Baylor University, Waco, Texas
Collin Conway - Attending Staff, Forbes Hospital, Monroeville, Pa.
Nicole Figel - Minimally Invasive Fellowship, UT Health Science Center, San Antonio, Texas
Victoria Lee - Attending Staff, Atlanta, Ga.
William Nelson - Attending Staff, Meadville Medical Center, Meadville, Pa.
Natasha St. Germain - Minimally Invasive Fellowship, Sinai, Baltimore, Md.

Phoebe Abraham - Attending Staff, West Penn Hospital, Pittsburgh, Pa.
Eric Boyle - Bariatrics Fellowship, Carolina Medical Center, Charlotte, N.C.
Elizabeth Dovec - Bariatric/Minimally Invasive Surgery Fellowship, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tenn.
Jared Murdock - Cardiothoracic Surgery Fellowship, Emory University, Atlanta, Ga.
John Rutkoski - Advanced Laparoscopy and Robotic Surgery Fellowship, Valley Health System, Ridgewood, N.J.
Tae-Ho Song - Cardiothoracic Surgery Fellowship, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston

George Nassif - Minimally Invasive Colorectal Fellowship, Lankenau Hospital
J. Ryan Rice - PRS Fellowship, Lahey Clinic
Irene Tower - Cosmetic Surgery Fellowship, Los Angeles
Casey Yossa - Vascular Surgery Fellowship, Allegheny General Hospital

Chad J. Carlton - Minimally Invasive Surgery Fellowship, University of Texas-Houston
Michael S. Cowher - Breast Surgery Fellowship, Cleveland Clinic
Pablo G. Giuseppucci - Private Practice, Grove City, Pa.
Gregory S. Huang - Trauma/Critical Care Fellowship, University of Louisville
Justin K. Nelms - Vascular Surgery Fellowship, University of Maryland
Deane E. Smith, III - Cardiothoracic Surgery Fellowship, New York University

Elizabeth L. Detschelt - Vascular Surgery Fellowship, Allegheny General Hospital
James E. Kasiewicz - Surgical Critical Care Fellowship, UPMC
Soumya Neravetla - Cardiothoracic Surgery Fellowship, University of Miami
Jitesh A. Patel -  Colon and Rectal Surgery Fellowship, Washington University, St. Louis
Geoffrey B. Pelz - Cardiothoracic Surgery Fellowship, Allegheny General Hospital
Majed Y. Sarouf-Maalouf - PRS Fellowship, Akron General Hospital

Brian M. Goodman - Cardiothoracic Surgery Fellowship, The Ohio State University
Mark W. Hennon - Cardiothoracic Surgery Fellowship, University of Wisconsin
Jason R. Kasza - Minimally Invasive Surgery, George Washington University
Greta L. Piper - Surgical Critical Care Fellowship, University of Pittsburgh